Agni Mantra

Agni Mantra

Wednesday, January 19, 2005

Soma Surya and Panchanga

|| Om Gurave Namah ||

Soma Surya and Panchanga
By Sanjay Prabhakaran
(For SJC Jyotish Digest)

Shiva and Shakti together create this whole universe. In astrological paradigm, classics teach us to associate Sun and Moon respectively for Shiva and Shakti. Samkya shastra teaches how to enumerate the whole creation from this duality created by Shiva and Uma (Purusha and Prakriti). Due to their mutual play emotions and basic nature is formed, which is called Guna. They are of three types namely Rajas, Satva and Tamas. Soma or moon is the indicator of this. One etymology for the word soma(moon) is
sa + uma = soma.
'Sa' means 'with' and 'Uma' is mother goddess.
Hence, Moon is the prime indicator of creation of the native understood by the Natal chart. This interaction between sun and moon creates the whole native who is composed of Gyana (knowledge), action and physical form. These are called Indriya. 'Indriya' is derived from the word Indu, another name for Moon. Indriya, loosely called senses, is primarily of five types. In gross form they are five forms of physical matter and subtler forms of five gyana ( Conciousness / Knowledge) indriyas (from satva) and karma(action) indiriya (from Rajas). These five within each class is also composed of various proportions of rajas, satva and tamas. Hence Five are prime forms created from the three prime forms as per sankya (numeric enumuration) shastra. In short all gross matter, conciousness and action is created.

Sun, Thus with the interaction with Moon creates all bodies and animates them till death. Moon's Angle from Sun (Seen as phases of moon), northerly rise & fall noted by Rahu and Ketu and Her course in Nakshtra Zodiac indicates the quality of time at a given instant.

Shastra teaches to note the quality of time with Panchanga.

Panchanga, The 5 limbs of Time.

The objective of this article is to express the author's understanding that the whole chart should be understood from this origin of creation perspective. The Sun and moon forms the five angas(limbs) of time namely, Vaara (weekday), Tithi, Nakshatra, Karana and Yoga. This gives results to other grahas corresponding to to the five tatva which are Agni (Heat/Energy), Pritvi (solids), Akasha (Space), Jala (Liquids), Vayu ( Air). Agni is ruled by Graha Mars, Pritvi by Mercury, Aksha by Jupiter, Jala by Venus and Vayu by Saturn. In fact all these tatvas was created by Sun and Moon interaction.

Classical text gives various cues to understand panchanga by giving various associations Like,

Vaara(Weekday) denotes Agni (tatva ruled by Mars).
Karana (~12 hour Moon position from Sun) denotes Pritvi (tatva ruled by Mercury).
Yoga (Composite Luni-Solar position in Zodiac) denotes Akasha (tatva ruled by Jupiter).
Tithi(Moon Phase) denotes Jala (tatva ruled by Venus).
Nakshatra(Lunar division of Zodiac) denotes Vayu (tatva ruled by Saturn).

These information in conjunction with many other visual geometric tools are used to further understand Time.
Kaalachakra/Ashtadala padma (Octal Petal Lotus) .
Ghataka Chakra, (For destructive combinations).

Students are encouraged to refer to panchanga of the local place and get into correlating every day events with the quality of time.


1. Refer Bhagavata Purana for Sankya Shastra.
2. Local Panchanga
Some Suggestions,
Bhaskar Panchanga (For Canada and USA)
Kalanirnay Panchanga (For USA, India etc)
My other article

Also Read,

To be Contd....

Om Tat Sat
Post a Comment